Oh really?   6 comments

Note to parents:

Teach your child to read before you give them books with complicated philosophies and instructions.

Oh really

Or better still, put down your phone and read to them.


About the Author

The Cat Portrait2

The Cat is one of the most successful feline authors in the history of Catkind. His sharp elegant wit has produced the bestselling book ‘Getting Out – Excerpts from a Cat’s Diary’ and of course the much plagiarised gag of the same name which appears on all of the funniest joke sites on the internet. Happily soon ‘Getting Out – Excerpts from a Cat’s Diary’ will be available in China, aren’t the Chinese lucky!

Copies of the Cat’s masterpiece of feline literature ‘Getting Out – Excerpts from a Cat’s Diary’ and his latest wonderful book ‘The Cat’s Travelogue’ can be purchased at a bookstore near you or from the internet at Amazon.com and here for the Travelogue The Cat’s Travelogue Paperback Edition or at what The Cat calls his www – wickedly wonderful website here www.thecatsdiary.com where you can not only learn more about me the genius Cat but also play my games they are all paw picked by me and have been described as “exactly what free on-line games should be, fun, free and fantastic.”

6 responses to “Oh really?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BOL that wouldn’t work for young canines but even I have never chomped on a book, paper is so dull and tasteless.

    • Sadly I understand that it wouldn’t work for young Canines, or old for that matter, no offence, or not much intended, but dogs are um… ‘challenged’ occasionally.

      My fluffy German German Shepherd used to eat anything. Kettles, shelves, doors, etc., but his speciality was to eat cookbooks, if on the odd occasion he was ever locked in the kitchen and then um… how do I say this? Oh yes he would ‘perform’ on them afterwards. That sort of behaviour is like the books you have sniffed “tasteless and dull.”

      So how are you? What happened to your blog? The old folks not getting out as often as they used to?

      Actually I saw a nice house down your way in Dorset recently. It was in Country Life and yes I still read it lord knows why I haven’t set foot in England for nine or ten years. After reading about the property I started to think “I wouldn’t mind living there!”Then later I read the Telegraph and thought nah! England jusy isn’t for me anymore!

      Here food is better quality, the quality of life is better quality :0). Things like the cost of services is very low, medical treatment is excellent and not expensive, though not a single hospital or doctor here accepts the ‘British’ version of the EU medical card because “the British Government don’t pay their bills.” That statement was made years before the strong and stable shambles of recent months!

      You know I don’t miss the UK. Here if required we have a range fo german supermarkets which knock spots of the UK ones for quality and value and then there is Tescos, M&S (and their wonderful English fashionable clothes, soory tried to write that with a straight face) and believe it or not Iceland. Who caused just a tinge of homesickness when they opened and didn’t have their awful meat pies which I remembered from the old days. Even they knew they wouldn’t sell here and like Tescos and M&S they even sell that dreadful briney watery stuff that is a speciality of the UK. British Bacon which produces that awful white foamy mess when frying!

      Rant concluding!

      I hope you have a great weekend. Russia beckons now, happily after that it won’t be long until we are off to the newly de-democratised Turkey oh joy. Sadly it’s one of the few countries where all my ‘family’ can meet in the west without having their passports contaminated with Visa rejection stamps a speciality of the west. Rather humourously it’s only me that requires a visa there and as you probably know Brits just turn up at the destination airport pay a few quid and get a stamp, a real stamp that you lick!

      Hope it is hot and sunny and the walks are long.

      Purrs,

      The Cat

      • It probably was a very nice house if it was in Country Life! There are lots of lovely houses that we nose around on Rightmove.
        I will do my best to get mum to put some photos into a blog. I keep telling her to do ‘short & sweet’… they don’t have to be great long rambling things with a gazillion pictures just because she takes a gazillion pictures. Perhaps not quite as short as yours but then I doubt they would ever be as frequent as yours!
        Have a wonderful time in Russia.
        Woofs x

      • Sounds good. I like your Mum’s blogs. Short and sweet would be good too. Yes my blogs are rather short, in fact my comments on comment tend to be longer 😂

        One thing occurred to me a long time ago. But then I forgot, you know we have been blogging for about the same time and yet you filled your blog up and had to start a new one while I’m still on the new one.

        What crossed my mind was do you resize your pictures? You won’t hear a male admit this often, but mine are tiny and still appear ok on the blog.

        Yes it was a nice house, but had a couple of things against it. It was too big and in the UK! 😀

        I have often wondered if I enjoy my trips abroad 😊 We’ll see!

        In the meantime have a great weekend. I am finishing a book which will be published first in China, believe it or not, so will be working!

      • Yes, you guessed it, it was the photos that did it. The ‘new’ blog now has low quality large pictures, whereas the old one had pictures just exported any old way into a folder and then dropped into the blog. It’s a bit of a fag remembering to choose the smaller kb pics instead of the huge mb ones but we’re managing! Everything is just so big these days and back when I started the blog I’m sure pictures didn’t have that many mbs. I think I used to like being able to click on pictures to see larger versions – so people can read the small print if they want to.
        All a bit technical, I should really just get my own domain. Saying that we do have two, but sadly they both have names that I wouldn’t want to use any more.
        Hmmm being published in China in Chinese? Will you translate? BOL just thinking of some of the excellent examples of translation that one sees…

      • I know what you mean about the resizing of photographs, it’s a bit of a faf!

        Yes The Cat will be published in Chinese and also the latest book which is an adventure story sort of thing with humans instead of animals for a change. The Cat is going to be animated for the Chinese audience, we are working on the look of the characters now. They asked me for a western artist to do the initial sketches so I am sort of in charge of the look of the whole endeavour and I’m writing the scripts as well.

        The adventure books came about because the producers of The Cat series said there was a gap in the market for this sort of story and could I write a book for them. If it goes well with the book there will be a movie. I have an option for several more books to make a series, which will all end up as movies.

        All very J.K. Rowling I know. The books run to over 80,000 words because they employ the same chatty gossipy style as the first Cat book which is new for the Chinese.

        As for the translation, I have no idea about that, the publisher handles that and the producers the rest. I just scribble and wait for Swift transfers, oh and occasionally watch the lake in front of the house.

        Happily I like writing and get up at 5.00 ish to do it before the house wakes up. So I probably only work five or six hours a day, five days a week and sometimes weekends. I didn’t plan this book it just evolved as I wrote which means the ending was a great shock! I liked that. The villain was a hero and the good guys… well that would be telling.

        Have a great Friday and keep that tail wagging.

Leave a Reply

